Voting commences in MDP's National Congress elections

Voting has commenced in main-ruling Maldivian Democratic Party (MDP)'s National Congress elections.

Voting stations opened at 9:00 am on Saturday, and will close at 5:00 pm. 730 candidates are vying for 455 spots. Out of these, 165 candidates who are running uncontested have already been elected.

Voting for Th. Guraidhoo constituency will not take place on Saturday due to the COVID-19 situation in some islands of the constituency. The date on which voting will be held for the consituency will be announced at a later time, MDP said.

According to MDP, 92,743 members are eligible to vote in the election. The party said voter turnout is expected to be higher than the Local Council Election turnout.