Guraidhoo MP takes oath of office

MP for Guraidhoo constituency Ibrahim Riza has taken his oath of office.

While the swearing in ceremony of the newly elected parliamentarians for the 19th parliament took place earlier on May 28, MP Riza could not attend the function as he was abroad on an 'Umra' pilgrimage to Saudi Arabia at the time.

His swearing-in ceremony was held on Monday at the parliament, with Chief Justice Dr. Ahmed Abdulla Didi administering his oath. Speaker of the parliament, Mohamed Nasheed was also present at the ceremony.

87 members were elected to the 19th parliament, with main-ruling Maldivian Democratic Party (MDP) securing super majority of the Parliament with 64 seats.