Quorum requirements fulfilled at emergency session: EC

Chairman of Elections Commission Ahmed Shareef Adam has stated that the emergency commission meeting held Monday to elect a new Vice Chairman for the commission was conducted with the required quorum.

President Ibrahim Mohamed Solih appointed former commission member Ahmed Akram for another term on the commission at a ceremony held Monday.

Following his appointment, the Elections Commission announced on Twitter that Akram had been re-elected as the commission's Vice President at the commission's 25th emergency meeting.

Responding to the tweet, commission member Fuwad Thawfeek said he had not attended the emergency session. He further requested to clarify how many members had been in attendance at the emergency session.

Chairman Shareef said all members except Fuwad had been in attendance at the session. They are Ismail Habeeb, Ali Nashath, Ahmed Akram and Shareef. Shareef further said the required quorum to hold an emergency session is three members, therefore, the quorum requirement was fulfilled at Monday's session.