EC excludes PPM from advisory committee

Elections Committee (EC) has established a national advisory committee for the upcoming parliamentary election.

Speaking to AVAS, EC member Ahmed Akram confirmed that the national advisory committee for the 2019 Parliamentary Election has been established. The committee comprises of five members and 26 representatives from political parties and independent institutions and organizations. No representatives from either PPM or DRP (Dhivehi Rayyithunge Party) are on the committee, revealed Akram.

"PPM has not nominated any of its members to be part of the committee. We excluded PPM for this reason, and can include them in the committee upon request", said Akram.

The first meeting of the national advisory committee has been scheduled for Monday.

When asked for a comment on the exclusion, Secretary General of PPM, Abdul Matheen said names of nominees to be included on the advisory committee were sent by the party to the Elections Commission. The party was not informed that the electoral body has established the committee, said Matheen.

The Parliamentary Elections have been scheduled for April.