Progressive Coalition concludes primary; announces six candidates

Joint coalition, Progressive Party of Maldives (PPM) and Peoples' National Alliance (PNC) on Friday concluded their primary for six of their target constituencies for the upcoming parliamentary elections.

Both parties being backed by former President Yameen Abdul Gayyoom, Friday's primaries were for Mulaku constituency, Makunudhoo constituency, Kinbidhoo constituency, Alifushi constituency, Thulusdhoo constituency and Felidhoo constituency.

Former Managing Director of Male' Water and Sewerage Company (MWSC) during president Yameen 's tenure, Fazul Rasheed secured the ticket for Felidhoo constituency with 216 votes, while PPM council member Ahmed Siddiq won the ticket for Thulusdhoo constituency with 203 votes.

Ahmed Haleem secured the coalition ticket for Kinbidhoo constituency, and Mariyam Juhain Sadiq won the ticket for Mulaku constituency. Yashafa Abdhul Ghanee, who's birth island is Makunudhoo, won the ticket for her constituency, while Ahmed Hussein becomes the elected candidate for Alifushi constituency.

While some well known figures suffered a defeat in the primaries, a total of 19 contestants took part in Friday's primary. The coalition has already announced 56 candidates who will be representing the alliance in the parliamentary elections slated for April.