Member resigns from Asset Recovery Commission

Member of the Presidential Commission on Corruption and Asset Recovery Aas Abdulla has resigned from the commission.

Aas announced his resignation via a Facebook post. In his post, he revealed that he had sent his letter of resignation to the president, and thanked the president for granting him the opportunity to contribute to the commission. He did not disclose the reason for his resignation.

Four members remain on the commission following Aas' resignation. They are; President of the commission Ahmed As-ad and members Nadheem Ibrahim, Aishath Hana Waheed and Fathmath Sareera Ali Shareef.

The Commission on Corruption and Asset Recovery was established by President Ibrahim Mohamed Solih by a presidential decree on November 17, 2018.

The purpose of the commission is to recuperate the lost asset of the State from 1st January 2012 till 17th November 2018 and to ensure that all responsible authorities carry out their legal duties in investigating the corruption and abuse of power within State institutions.