Parliament approves four appointments to tax authority's board

The Parliament on Tuesday approved to appoint four members to the board of Maldives Inland Revenue Authority, MIRA.

Vacancies were available on MIRA’s board after a member resigned from the board, and because the term of three current members are nearing its end. President Ibrahim Mohamed Solih made eight recommendations to to the Parliament from among the individuals who applied for board membership. The names were assessed by the Economic Committee of the Parliament, and five names were forwarded to the Parliament Floor after assesment.

The Parliament on Tuesday voted to appoint Mumtaz Abdul Rasheed, Leena Mohamed Zahir Hussain, Husham Waheed and Aishath Asha Ali to the MIRA board. The parliament rejected Ali Irufan’s nomination for board membership.

Seven members sit on MIRA’s board: they are, a member appointed by the Finance Minister, five members appointed by the President and the Commissioner General of Taxation.