MP Aslam elected as MDP PG leader

The main-ruling Maldivian Democratic Party (MDP) has elected Hithadhoo North MP Mohamed Aslam as their Parliamentary Group leader.

In the Parliamentary Group election held Friday, Aslam contested against the current PG leader, Henveiru Central MP Ali Azim. Aslam received 40 votes in Friday's vote, while Azim received 25 votes.

Aslam is a close aide of President Ibrahim Mohamed Solih and aligns his political work closely with President Solih's vision. Among the current 19th Parliament members, Aslam is one of the most experienced and longest-serving members. Aslam, who also chairs the Parliament Committee on National Security, works closely with MPs of all political views and has exceptional leadership skills.

Ali Azim, the incumbent PG leader, is a close aide of Parliament Speaker and former President of the Maldives Mohamed Nasheed.

In Friday's Election, the Parliamentary Group leader's deputies, the PG Secretary-General, Chief Whip, and whips were also elected. In addition to incumbent Deputy Leaders Henveiru South MP Hussain 'Andhun' Shaheem and Hulhudhoo MP Ilyas Labeeb, Alifushi MP Mohamed Rasheed 'Bigey' Hussain contested for the post. Bigey, who is another close aide of President Solih, won one position, while Ilyas and Shaheem will face off in a second round as they received an equal number of votes in Friday's election. Fuvahmulah Central MP Hussain Mohamed Didi was elected as the PG Secretary-General with 63 votes.

While Thinadhoo MP Abdul Mughnee contested against Makunudhoo MP Mohamed Raaee for the Chief Whip position, Mughunee won 34 votes. Raaee received 31 votes. Komandoo MP Mohamed Rashid, Vaikaradhoo MP Hassan Ziyad, Ihavandhoo MP Mohamed Shifau, Macchangolhi South MP Ahmed Haitham, and Fonadhoo MP Ali Siraj were elected as whips.