ACC nominees forwarded to parliament committee for review

The Parliament on Monday announced the nominations forwarded by President Ibrahim Mohamed Solih for the Anti-Corruption Commission (ACC) membership.

The President's Office opened for ACC membership on January 5, when all commission members resigned from the commission. When the deadline for the initial announcement expired, a second announcement was issued. The President forwarded his nominations for Parliament consideration on February 23.

The Parliament's Secretary-General Fathimath Niusha read out the President's nominations during Monday's Parliament sitting. Speaker Mohamed Nasheed forwarded the names to the relevant parliament committee for review.

The nominations are as follows:
-Adam Shamil, Raiyvilaage / Th. Vilufushi
-Abdul Salaam, Havaa / Sh. Narudhoo
-Thoha Mohamed, Kalhi Haaruge / ADh. Maamigili
-Shazna Hashim, Rihivilu / HDh. Nolhivaranfaru
-Shiyama Mohamed, Naares / R. Hulhudhuffaaru

The most recent members of ACC were Commission President Mariyam Shauna, Vice President Fathimath Angola, and member Aishath Abdulla. They resigned from the commission on December 27 after the Parliament Committee on Independent Institutions recommended their termination based on an audit report on the commission's performance. Before their resignation, two other members, Ali Ashraf and Ibrahim Shakeel, also resigned from the commission. They tendered their resignation on November 15.

The President's nominees were submitted for Parliament consideration after the duration stipulated in ACC Act had passed. The law states that appointments must be made to the commission within 60 days after the resignation of a member.