Draw held to determine candidate numbers for Guraidhoo by-election

A draw was held on Wednesday to determine the candidate numbers of the candidates contesting the Guraidhoo by-election.

The Election Commission decided to hold the by-election for the Parliament's Guriadhoo seat on April 15, following the death of MP Ibrahim Riza on February 22. Three candidates have applied to contest the primary. They are the main-ruling Maldivian Democratic Party (MDP)'s Ibrahim Shaz, the opposing Progressive Party of Maldives (PPM)'s candidate, MP Riza's brother, Hussain Riza, and Maldives National Party (MNP) candidate, Ali Arif. All three are from Guraidhoo island, the largest island in the Guraidhoo constituency.

The Election Commission Wednesday drew lots to determine the candidate numbers for the by-election. According to the draw, Candidate No.1 will be Hussain Riza. Candidate No. 2 will be Ibrahim Shaz, while Ali Arif will be Candidate No. 3.