Action requested against four MDP MPs

The main-ruling Maldivian Democratic Party (MDP) 's Parliamentary Group has asked the party leadership to take action against four MDP MPs who are working with Parliament Speaker and MDP President Mohamed Nasheed in violation of the party's rules and regulations.

Some pro-government members of the MDP parliamentary group confirmed the decision to AVAS.

The main-ruling MDP is seeing internal division like never before, with one wing supporting President Ibrahim Mohamed Solih and the other, former President Nasheed. Following the party's presidential primary in February, which Nasheed lost to President Solih, Nasheed's 'Fikuregge Dhirun' faction has been actively working as a separate wing of the party and against President Solih.

A member of the MDP parliamentary group, who spoke on condition of anonymity, said the party leadership was asked to take action against Henveiru West MP Hassan Lateef, Maafannu North MP Imthiyaz Fahmy, Kulhudhuffushi North MP Yasir Abdul Latheef, and Hulhudhoo MP Ilyas Labeeb.

All four members chair four different parliamentary committees. Hassan Latheef is the chairman of the general committee, while the SOE Committee is chaired by Ilyas Labeeb. The Judiciary Committee was chaired by Imthiyaz Fahmy, and Yasir chairs the ethics committee.

The source told AVAS that the party's parliamentary group decided today to remove four chairpersons of parliamentary committees and transfer them to other committees. While some sources say the PG group decided to take further action against the four, the next steps will be taken by the party's relevant committee, they said.

"The truth is that these four MPs working with President Nasheed are obstructing the running of the government through parliament," he said.