MDP issues final warning to four MPs

Four MPs from the main-ruling Maldivian Democratic Party (MDP) have received a final warning for violating a party whip line.

The MDP's Action Committee issued the aforementioned final warning to Maafannu North MP Imthiyaz Fahmy, Henveiru West MP Hassan Latheef, Kulhudhuffushi North MP Yasir Abdul Lateef, and Hulhudhoo MP Ilyas Labeeb. These individuals are affiliated with MDP President and Parliament Speaker Mohamed Nasheed's Fikuregge Dhirun faction, which represents an anti-government movement within the party.

According to a senior MDP official who spoke to AVAS, the four members were given the final warning following the established procedures. The severity of the offense determines the actions taken against a member, and the final warning is the culmination of preceding measures.

In a related development, the Action Committee has decided to expel MP Ali Azim from the MDP. Azim will be eligible to rejoin the party one year after the date of the expulsion, but he will be barred from contesting any elections on an MDP ticket for the next five years.

President Nasheed has argued that disciplinary actions against his supporters contravene the party's constitution and rules. However, the MDP refutes these allegations.