Ice plants to be established in nine islands

The Ministry of Fisheries and Ocean Resources is working on the construction of ice plants in nine islands.

Fisheries Ministry's State Minister Mohamed Muthalib said ice plants are being established on nine islands under the government's efforts to maintain the quality of the fish and provide a good price for the fish caught by local fishermen. The chosen islands for the construction of ice plants include Haa Alif Dhidhdhoo, Alif Alif Rasdhoo, Laamu Maamendhoo, Dhaalu Meedhoo, Gaafu Dhaalu Rathafandhoo, Lhaviyani Naifaru, Meemu Veyvah, Gaafu Dhaalu Fiyoari, and Laamu Maavah The minister said the government is hopeful that the initiative can be completed within the next month.

Muthalib added that the establishment of the ice plants is under five projects run by the Saudi Fund for Development and four projects handed over to FENAKA in 2023 of which the contracts were terminated due to implementation delays.

In addition to ice plants, 200 opportunities will be opened for the installation of RSW systems on boats in a move to maintain fish quality, said Muthalib. He said the government will also provide easy access to loans to fishing boat owners through banks.