Parliament approves new ambassador nominations

Maldives parliament on Wednesday approved the nominations of eight new ambassadors.

During the sitting on Wednesday, parliament unanimously approved the nominations of president Ibrahim Mohamed Solih

New ambassadors

  • Brussels: Hassan Sobir
  • India: Aishath Mohamed Didi
  • Singapore: Dr Abdulla Mausoom
  • Germany: Ahmed Latheef
  • UK: Dr Farahanaz Faisal
  • UN & US: Thilmeeza Hussain
  • Malaysia: Visaam Ali
  • Sri Lanka: Umar Abdul Razzaq

The new coalition government since taking office last month, has looked to appoint officials to political posts with each political party getting a percentage.

AVAS had reported earlier that main opposition Maldivian Democratic Party (MDP) would get 40 percent, with 25 percent business tycoon Gasim Ibrahim's Jumhoory Party (JP) and 20 percent for former president Maumoon Abdul Gayoom. The other main party in the coalition, religiously conservative Adhaalath Party (AP) would receive the smallest slice with 15 percent.