Parliamentary committee to review ambassador nominations

Parliament on Monday forwarded the nominations of new ambassadors to its committee for review.

President Ibrahim Mohamed Solih on Thursday had named new ambassadors to eight countries and sent their nominations for parliament approval.

As per the constitution, the appointments of ambassadors would have to be approved by the parliament. The government oversight committee would review the nominations before the parliament votes for approval.

New ambassadors

  • Brussels: Hassan Sobir
  • India: Aishath Mohamed Didi
  • Singapore: Dr Abdulla Mausoom
  • Germany: Ahmed Latheef
  • UK: Dr Farahanaz Faisal
  • UN & US: Thilmeeza Hussain
  • Malaysia: Visaam Ali
  • Sri Lanka: Umar Abdul Razzaq

The new coalition government since taking office last month, has looked to appoint officials to political posts with each political party getting a percentage.

AVAS had reported earlier that main opposition Maldivian Democratic Party (MDP) would get 40 percent, with 25 percent business tycoon Gasim Ibrahim's Jumhoory Party (JP) and 20 percent for former president Maumoon Abdul Gayoom. The other main party in the coalition, religiously conservative Adhaalath Party (AP) would receive the smallest slice with 15 percent.