Three candidates drop out of parliamentary race

Elections Commission (EC) have revealed that three candidate withdrew their candidacy from the parliamentary race.

The three candidates who dropped out of the race are MDP candidate for Mahibadhoo constituency Ali Ahmed, independent candidate for Hithadhoo central constituency Zahid Zameer and Labor party candidate for Gemanafushi constituency Mohamed Ilham.

The Elections Commission (EC) have now closed the window for withdrawing candidacy for the parliamentary election as the printing of ballot papers to be used for the election are now underway.

A total of 395 candidates are contesting for 87 different constituencies in the elections slated fr April. While 264, 589 people are eligible to vote in the election, the Elections Commission have now publicized the final voters list.