Members of the 19th Parliament sworn in

The newly-elected members of the 19th Parliament were sworn in on Tuesday night.

While 87 members were elected for the parliament, 86 members were sworn in by Chief Justice Dr. Ahmed Abdulla Didi.

MP for Guraidhoo constituency Ibrahim Riza was not present at the ceremony as he is currently in Saudi Arabia to perform a holy ‘Umra’. His oath will be taken upon his return, informed the parliament secretariat.

Main-ruling Maldivian Democratic Party (MDP) secured super majority of the parliament in their landslide victory in the parliamentary elections. The party won 64-seats in the election.