'Members implicated in MMPRC graft present at committee meeting'

The Parliament's Public Accounts Committee meeting was closed to the media on Monday after Prosecutor General Aishath Bisham revealed that some members of the committee were involved in the MMPRC graft.

The agenda of Monday's meeting included meeting officials from the Prosecutor General's Office regarding the special audit reports on the MMPRC graft in which millions in state funds were embezzled.

Speaking at the committee, Prosecutor General Aishath Bisham said she cannot disclose some information on the case due to the presence of some committee members who are involved in the graft. Bisham said unless the members excused themselves from the meeting, she cannot disclose information to the committee.

Bisham further said that several cabinet ministers, judges and parliament members are implicated in the audit report, in addition to some committee members.

After Bisham's revelation, the meeting was changed to a closed door meeting following a vote among committee members.

Members of the Public Accounts Committee

Kimbidhoo MP Mohamed Nashiz (Chair)
Thimarafushi MP Abdulla Riyaz (Vice Chair)
Hanimaadhoo MP Abdul Ghafoor Moosa
Kulhudhuffushi Uthuru MP Yasir Abdul Latheef
Komandoo MP Hussain Waheed
Eydhafushi MP Ahmed Saleem
Felidhoo MP Ibrahim Fazul Rasheed
Vilufushi MP Hassan Afeef
Kudahuvadhoo MP Ahmed Amir
Dhaandhoo MP YAugood Abdulla
Fares Mathoda MP Hussain Mohamed Latheef
Hulhudhoo MP Ilyas Labeeb
Maradhoo MP Ibrahim Shareef
Hithadhoo MP Mohamed Aslam