Motion submitted to reveal those involved in MMPRC graft

An emergency motion has been filed at the Parliament calling to reveal the names of the people involved in the MMPRC graft.

The motion was submitted by Henveiru Hulhangu MP Hassan Latheef, and was approved with 42 members voting to accept the motion.

The official audit report into the MMPRC scandal revealed that over US$ 79 million was embezzled through the state tourism promotion company, Maldives Marketing and Public Relations Corporation (MMPRC).

The emergency motion stated that the citizens of Maldives elected a Maldivian Democratic arty (MDP) government to identify those who stole from the state treasury, to identify those behind enforced murders and disappearances and taking action against the perpetrators.

The motion also noted that the Prosecutor General had revealed that several people implicated in the MMPRC graft are currently appointed as cabinet ministers, judges and parliament members.

"We urge the government to take immediate action against those involved in murders and enforced disappearances, and the MMPRC graft", read the motion.

Prosecutor General Aishath Bisham earlier this week revealed at the Parliament's Public Accounts committee that individuals involved in the MMPRC scandal sat on the committee, and said some cabinet members, judges and MPs were involved in the corruption.

After Bisham's revelation, the meeting was changed to a closed door meeting. While it is unclear which members on the committee are involved in the graft, it has been reported that Maradhoo MP Ibrahim Shareef, Eydhafushi MP Ahmed Saleem and Fares Mathoda MP Hussain Mohamed Latheef are among those allegedly involved in the scandal.