Parliament approves changes to council president wages

The parliament has brought changes to the salaries given to council members.

After discussion with the Pay Commission, the parliament's Public Finance Committee prepared a report and recommended amending the salaries to island council presidents from MVR 15,000 to MVR 23,000 and council member salaries from MVR 11,000 to 12,000. However, while voting on the bill during Thursday's parliament sitting, Hanimaadhoo MP Abdul Ghafoor Moosa proposed further changes to the salaries. The proposal was seconded by Dhaandhoo MP Yaugub Abdulla.

Ghafoor proposed to reduce island council president's salary from MVR 23,000 to MVR 20,000, and to increase council member salaries from MVR 11,000 to MVR 13,000. The amendments were approved with 62 members voting in its favor.

The new changes increase the salaries of deputy council presidents from MVR 12,000 to MVR 15,000 and atoll council president salaries from MVR 26,000 to MVR 28,000. City mayors will receive MVR 40,000 in wages while deputy mayors will receive MVR 35,000. City council members will be paid MVR 30,000.