Male' mayor, Fuvahmulah mayor competing for LGA board

Male' City Mayor Dr. Mohamed Muizzu and Fuvahmulah City Mayor Ismail Rafeeq are competing for the mayoral seat on Local Government Authority (LGA)'s board.

The Elections Commission opened for application for the post, and main-ruling Maldivian Democratic Party (MDP) put forward Mayor Rafeeq as their candidate while Mayor Muizzu will be representing opposing Progressive Party of Maldives (PPM). The vote to elect a member will be taken among City Councillors.

PPM won majority of Male' City seats in the recent local council election while MDP holds majority in Kulhudhuffushi, Fuvahmulah and Addu City. While councillors from PPM are also among Kulhudhuffushi, Fuvahmulah and Addu City council members, a close race is expected between Muizzu and Rafeeq. The election will take place on June 12, and will be overseen by the Elections Commission.

K. Atoll Council President Mohamed Nimal has been elected as the atoll council representative for LGA. While MDP's candidate, the President of Noonu Atoll Council Mohamed Basheer also applied for the post, his application was rejected by the Elections Commission as it was submitted after the deadline for applications had passed. However, Basheer insists the form was submitted before the deadline, and has announced that a court case against the commission will be filed at the High Court.

Local Government Authority (LGA) is a state institution established under the Decentralisation Act to regulate, oversee and develop the local governance system of Maldives as envisioned in the Constitution. LGA comprises of a nine-member board including a cabinet member appointed by the president, a woman with knowledge of gender equality, a member experienced in governance or public administration, a member from a civil non-governmental organisation, a member appointed by city councillors, a member appointed by presidents of atoll councils, a member appointed by island councillors, a representative from Ministry of Finance appointed by Minister of Finance and a Chief Executive Officer from the authority appointed by the president.