Dept. mayors, councilors to be elected before June 20

The Local Government Authority (LGA) has instructed to elect deputy mayors and deputy presidents to city and island councils before June 20th.

Deputy mayors and council presidents are elected through a secret vote taken among council members. The mayor and council president's deputies are usually elected during the first meeting held after councilor's oath taking. However, some councilors could not travel to their respective islands this year due to travel restrictions and quarantine policies due to COVID-19, and was unable to attend the meeting.

An official from LGA Monday said a specific duration has been granted to appoint the officials after taking into consideration the current COVID-19 situation in the Maldives. Even if any councilors are not at their islands at this time, all councilors should be able to return to their islands and complete the mandatory 14-day quarantine during the given duration in order to elect the officials before June 20, said LGA.

LGA has also instructed to elect presidents and deputy presidents to the Women's Development Committees before June 20.

A deputy mayor has not been elected to only one city council, which is Male' City Council. While several islands have not yet elected a deputy council president, the exact number is not clear.

18 councilors are on the Male City Council including the mayor. Out of these, 12 councilors are from opposing Progressive Party of the Maldives (PPM). Therefore, it is believed that a councilor representing PPM will be elected as Deputy Mayor. Those competing for the post are Hulhumale' Councilor Ibrahim Sujau, Villimale' Councilor Nahla Ali and Central Maafannu Councilor Ahmed Nareesh.