Three main parties finalize candidates for Komandoo by-election

The three main parties contesting for the vacant Komandoo seat have finalized their by-election candidates.

The Komandoo seat became vacant when MP Hussain Waheed succumbed to cancer and passed away on December 14. While the Elections Commission has set a date for the constituency's by-election for February 5, 2022, the last date to apply for candidacy is December 30, 2021.

The main ruling Maldivian Democratic Party (MDP), opposing Progressive Party of Maldives (PPM), and newly founded Maldives National Party (MNP) have expressed interest in contesting for the seat. In this regard, all three parties held primaries to finalize a candidate who will be vying for the seat from their respective parties.

MDP granted their ticket to Mohamed Rashid, the Secretary-General of Foakaidhoo Council. He was the council's president for the last three consecutive terms.

MNP's ticket was awarded to Komandoo-born Abdul Hannan Idris. He was the only member who expressed interest in running for the seat from MNP. Hannan is among the first members who signed up for the party. After working for many years in the education sector, he now runs his own business.

In the by-election, PPM will be represented by former Deputy Minister of Home Ministry Moosa Fathuhee. According to PPM, Fathuhee is the only person who applied to contest in the party primary.