WDC by-election: PPM wins Nilandhoo seat, Meedhoo seat to MDA

Candidates from the Progressive Party of the Maldives (PPM) and Maldives Development Alliance (MDA) on Saturday won Women's Development Committee seats in the by-election held for F. Nilandhoo and Dh. Meedhoo.

Five candidates contested for the Nilandhoo WDC seat: three independent candidates and a candidate from PPM and Maldives National Party (MNP). The PPM candidate, Raniyya Naseer, won the election with 247 votes.

MNP's Khadheeja Ali received 233 votes, while independent candidates Muneera Ibrahim, Aminath Ali, and Thohira Ismail won 229, 151, and 85 votes.

The voter turn-out for the election was 1,497. Eleven votes were invalid.

Four candidates contested in the MEedhoo WDC by-election- two independent candidates and two from MNP and MDA. The MDA candidate, Hudhuna Abdul Azeez, won 353 votes, while MNP's Shu-ula Waheed received 208 votes. Independent candidate Aminath Fazla received 120 votes, and Aishath Sama won 74 votes.

The voter turn-out for the election was 1,005. Thirteen votes were invalid.