MDP wins Gaadhiffushi, Dhiggaru Council by-elections

The main-ruling Maldivian Democratic Party (MDP) won the Th. Gaadhiffushi Council and M. Dhiggaru Council by-elections held Saturday.

A by-election was held to elect a member to Gaadhffushi Council's vacant seat reserved for women. MDP's candidate Zulaikha Ahmed won the election, receiving 210 votes. Her competitors from the Progressive Party of the Maldives (PPM) and Maldives Reform Movement (MRM) received 201 and four votes, respectively.

In the Dhiggaru Council vote, MDP candidate Abdulla Arif won the vacant seat with 375 votes. PPM candidate Abdul Hannan received 320 votes.

President Ibrahim Mohamed Solih has congratulated the winning MDP candidates.

"This is an important victory for the party. Congratulations to the members who helped the campaign and the campaign team," the President said.

Speaking on Saturday's by-election victory, the party's By-election Committee Chairman and Youth Minister Ahmed Mahloof said the MDP won the elections as the people have accepted the revolutionary development brought about by President Solih.