PPM bags two out of four by-elections

The opposing Progressive Party of the Maldives (PPM) won two of the four by-elections held Saturday.

The by-elections for R. Rasmaadhoo, Th. Guraidhoo, L. Dhanbidhoo's Women's Development Committees, and Sh. Maaungoodhoo Council were held on Saturday. Out of these, PPM won the Rasmaadhoo and Guraidhoo by-elections.

PPM's Sabira Mohamed won the Rasmaadhoo election after contesting against the main-ruling Maldivian Democratic Party (MDP)'s Mariyam Liyoosa. PPM's Sharuma Ali Manik won the Guraidhoo seat against Maldives National Party (MNP)'s Fathimath Raniyya.

In Sh. Maaungoodhoo Council by-election, PPM's Mohamed Ibrahim Waheed contested against MDP's Fathimath Shimana. The seat was won by the MDP candidate. In Dhanbidhoo's WDC by-election, MNP's Mariyam Samira contested against PPM's Mariyam Rasheeda, independent candidate Aishath Visa and MDP's Aishath Ziyadha.

While 3814 people were eligible to vote in the four by-elections, the Elections Commission said the voter turnout was 2011.