PPM candidates win two by-elections

The main opposition, the Progressive Party of Maldives (PPM) candidates won two by-elections held by the Election Commission on Saturday.

The by-elections were held to elect members for the seat reserved for women on N. Magoodhoo Council, and L. Kalaidhoo's Women's Development Committee. The two elections were contested by PPM and main-ruling Maldivian Democratic Party (MDP) candidates.

PPM candidate, Yumna won the Magoodhoo Council seat with 124 votes. MDP candidate Fareedha received 115 votes. Meanwhile, in Laamu Kalaidhoo WDC vote, PPM candidate Shafiya received 197 votes, while MDP candidate Khuwaylath received 192 votes.

MDP's by-election committee Chairman and Youth Minister, Ahmed Mahloof commented on the outcome and said that today was an unsuccessful day for the party.

“Thank you to the MDP candidates and campaign teams for their hard work,” Mahloof said.