Over 10,000 individuals re-register for Parliamentary Elections

More than 10,000 individuals have re-registered to vote in the upcoming parliamentary elections.

The deadline for re-registration expired at 3:00 pm on Sunday.

According to the Elections Commission (EC), a total of 11,169 applications were received for re-registration, out of which 10,028 forms were deemed valid.

The EC has decided to set up voting stations abroad in three countries. These are countries where re-registrations exceeded 150. They are Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, Colombo, Sri Lanka and Trivandrum, India.

Originally scheduled for the 17th of this month, the parliamentary elections have been postponed to April 21 to avoid coinciding with the Holy month of Ramadan. This postponement will see an increase of 560 new eligible voters, bringing the total number of eligible voters to 284,887.

A total of 369 candidates, including 43 women and 326 men, are contesting in the upcoming parliamentary elections. Voting is slated to take place from 8:00 am to 4:00 pm on April 21, with vote counting scheduled to commence at 4:30 pm.