EC announces interim results of the parliamentary election

The Election Commission (EC) has announced the interim results of the 20th Parliamentary elections.

According to the interim results announced on Monday night, the ruling Peoples National Congress secured a supermajority with 66 seats. Counting the seats won by government-aligned Maldives Development Alliance (MDA) (2), Jumhooree Party (1), Maldives National Party (MNP) (1), and independent candidates endorsed by the government, the total number of government seats in the 93 seat parliament is 74.

Meanwhile, the main opposition Maldivian Democratic Party (MDP) secured 12 seats, and independent candidates, including government-endorsed candidates, won 11 seats.

The swearing-in ceremony for the 20th Parliament will be held on May 28.