Progressive Coalition's primary slated for Friday

The coalition formed between Progressive Party of Maldives (PPM) and Peoples' National Congress (PNC) have scheduled to hold their primaries for the upcoming parliamentary election on Friday afternoon.

The primaries for six constituencies will begin at 3.00pm and conclude at 6.00pm. The primaries for the following constituencies will be held on Friday.

Makunudhoo constituency
Alifushi constituency
Thulusdhoo constituency
Felidhoo constituency
Mulaku constituency
Kinbidhoo constituency
Nolhivaram constituency
Fuavmulaku North constituency

It was previously announced that the primaries for Nolhivaram and Fuvahmulaku North constituencies will also be held on Friday, although it was later cancelled.

While a total of 19 candidates have applied to contest in the primaries, 4427 registered members are eligible to vote in the primary. Peoples' National Congress revealed that ballot boxes will be placed in all islands of the constituencies with the exemption of Thinadhoo island of Vaavu atoll. Ballot boxes will also be placed at PPM and PNC office in capital Male'.

The Progressive Coalition earlier announced that they will be contesting for 56 seats in the parliamentary election slated for April. The candidates for the constituency have already been announced.