Present mayors of three cities defeated in MDP primary

The present mayors of Male’, Addu and Fuvahmulah cities have been defeated in main ruling Maldivian Democratic Party (MDP)'s primary held on Friday. The three mayors of Male', Addu and Fuvahmulah City contested in the primary seeking the opportunity to run for a new term as city council mayor in the upcoming local council election.

For Male city mayorship, MDP ticket was obtained by Anas Abdul Sattar, the present Secretary-General of MDP, defeating the current mayor Shifa Mohamed.

Ticket for Addu city mayorship was won by former MP of the city’s Hithadhoo Dhekunu constituency Ali Nizar after contending against with three-term mayor Abdulla Sodiq.

The present mayor of Fuvahmulah city Abdulla Falah was also unsuccessful in his bid, and the ticket was attained by Ismail Rafeeq.

A total of 909 candidates contested in the MDP primary held Friday, and 389 attained tickets without taking part in the primary as there were no other contenders for their respective constituencies. 381 candidates who applied for island councillorship secured party tickets without taking part in the primary, including the tickets for the atoll council presidency of Ha. and F. atolls council. The party tickets to run for six city council seats were secured in the same manner; which are five Male' city seats and one Fuvahmulah city seat.