New pharmacies to be established on 11 islands

An agreement has been signed to establish new pharmacies in 11 islands in the Maldives.

The Ministry of Health contracted the task of setting up the new pharmacies to the government-owned State Trading Organization (STO). According to the Health Ministry, the pharmacies within the health centers of the islands will be replaced by new pharmacies located on the grounds of the health centers. STO said the land required to build pharmacies within the grounds of the health centers had already been acquired.

The new pharmacies will be established in Ha. Thuraakunu, Ha. Thakandhoo, N. Landhoo, B. Dhonfan, ADh. Dhigurah, M. Kolhufushi, M. Maduvvari, M. Raiymandhoo, Th. Omadhoo, Ga. Kanduhulhudhoo, and Ga. Kolamaafushi.

Pharmacies were established on every island in the country, and medicines were made available under the national health insurance scheme, Aasandha, during the administration of former President Abdulla Yameen.