Eydhafushi MP elected as PPM PG leader

Eydhafushi MP Ahmed Saleem (Redwave Saleem) has been appointed as the Parliamentary Group Leader of opposing Progressive Party of Maldives (PPM).

Deputy President of PPM and Naifaru MP Ahmed Shiyam on Tuesday revealed that Saleem was elected for the post with the consensus of all members in the parliamentary group.

Saleem was first elected as a member of the parliament in 2009. He was re-elected during the 2014 parliamentary elections, and was successful in defending his seat in the 2019 election. This is the third consecutive term that Saleem is representing the Eydhafushi constituency.

Five members from PPM were able to secure seats in the 19th Parliament. They are Mahibadhoo MP Ahmed Thariq, Guraidhoo MP Mohamed Ghassan Maumoon, Guraidhoo MP Ibrahim Riza in addition to Saleem and Shiyam.