Supreme Court nominations sent to committee for review

The two names nominated by President Ibrahim Mohamed Solih regarding the appointment of a Judge to the Supreme Court has been sent to the Judiciary Committee for review.

President Solih nominated Mahaz Ali Zahir and Fathimath Dhiyana Saeed for the vacant Supreme Court seat.

The letter sent to the Parliament by the president requesting the appointment of Dhiyana and Mahaz for Supreme Court was read at the Parliament floor on Monday, and then forwarded to the Judiciary Committee for research.

While two names have been submitted, only one position as a judge of the apex court is available due to the recent dismissal of Judge Abdulla Didi. Therefore, only one out of the two nominated individuals will be appointed to the Supreme Court.

The Supreme Court's bench was decreased to five judges during the government of President Abdulla Yameen Abdul Gayyoom. However, the bench has now been increased to seven by the 19th Parliament, with all members voting in its favor. Following the change, Dr. Azmiralda Zahir and Aishath Sujun were appointed as Supreme Court justices.

While the candidates Mahaz Ali Zahir and Fathimath Dhiyana are currently being assessed by the committee, the Judicial Service Commission has been investigating several issues involving the remaining four judges on the bench.