Action will be taken against members who defied whipline: MP Azim

Action will be taken against four parliamentarians who defied the party's whipline, main-ruling Maldivian Democratic Party (MDP)'s parliamentary group leader Ali Azim has stated.

MDP submitted a bill to the parliament seeking a constitutional amendment to allow the extension of the term of incumbent local councillors. The party issued a three-line whip to ensure the bill is accepted. However, during Thursday night's parliament sitting, four MDP members abstained from voting, hence defying the party whip.

The members who went against the three-line whip are Maafannu North MP Imthiyaz Fahmy, Macchangolhi North MP Mohamed Rasheed, Madaveli MP Hussain Firushan and Ungoofaaru MP Mohamed Waheed.

MDP has taken action against parliamentarians who breached three-line whips in the past. One of MDP's founder members and former Chairperson of the party, Moosa 'Reeko' Manik, who was expelled from the party for breaching a three-line whip took to Twitter to express his sentiments on the current situation. He stated that his case was closely scrutinized and action was taken against him for breeching a party whip-line and noted that similar action had not been taken against the four members who defied Thursday's whipline. In response to his tweet, MP Ali Azim said MDP will investigate the actions of the parliamentarians and take due action.