License to be issued to Bangladeshi nationals without undergoing test

The Transport Ministry has said Bangladeshi nationals who possess a valid driver's license issued from their country will be issued a driver's license in the Maldives without undergoing a test.

With recent changes to the Land Transport Act, the Transport Ministry has been given the option to issue permanent driver's licenses to countries the ministry accepts. In this regard, a 25-country list was compiled and publicized on August 2.

The countries on the list are Afghanistan, Bhutan, India, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Vietnam, Japan, United Kingdom, United States of America, China, United Arab Emirates, Switzerland, Saudi Arabia, Belgium and Germany.

The ministry added Bangladesh to the list and published the updated list in the gazette on Sunday. The ministry did not state the reason behind adding the country to the list.

A large percentage of the expatriate work force consists of Bangladeshi nationals.