Committee approves assigning current ambs to other countries

The Parliament Committee on Foreign Relations has approved appointing two current ambassadors to other countries.

President Ibrahim Mohamed Solih sought the Parliament's approval to change Maldivian Ambassador to Belgium and UE, Hassan Sobir to Japan, and the Maldivian Ambassador to Sri Lanka Umar Abdul Razzaq to EU. His letter of request was read out at the Parliament sitting held on February 28.

In his letter, the President said he wished to bring them back to the Maldives from their current appointments. He did not state why he wanted to change their countries of assignment.

The Foreign Relations Committee reviewed the matter, and all eight members who took part in the Committee meeting approved to change the countries of appointment of the two ambassadors. The committee report has been forwarded to the Parliament floor.