Several current MPs clinch MDP tickets to contest parliamentary elections

Several incumbent parliament members from the main opposition, Maldivian Democratic Party (MDP), have emerged victorious in securing party tickets for the upcoming parliamentary election.

The MDP held its primaries on Saturday, with 27 polling stations in Male' City, and 95 in the atolls. Featuring 149 candidates, the primary determined party ticket recipients for 40 constituencies. A total of 25,325 party members were eligible to vote in the election.

Current MDP Parliament members, Hanimaadhoo MP Abdul Ghafoor Moosa, Belidhoo MP Mohamed Abdulla Shafeeq, Kaashidhoo MP Abdulla Jabir, and Biledhdhoo MP Ibrahim 'Dhonbileh' Hameed and Villingili MP Saud Hussain were among those who secured tickets in the primary. Other notable outcomes of the primary included former Thoddoo MP and first Tourism Minister of the previous government Ali Waheed securing the ticket for the Khulhudhuffushi South constituency. Nazra Naseem (Nazu), sister of former Vice President Faisal Naseem and wife of former Youth Minister Ahmed Mahloof, secured the ticket for the Fuvahmulah South constituency.

Meanwhile, the ticket for the Hulhumale North constituency was secured by Moosa 'Mookey' Ali Manik, who was the Managing Director of the Road Development Corporation (RDC) in the previous government. Former Transport Minister Dr. Ahmed Shamheed secured the ticket for Hulhumale Central Constituency while Maaz Ahmed Saleem, former presidential candidate Umar Naseer's running mate, secured the ticket for the Henveiru West constituency.

One of the surprising outcomes was the defeat of the current MP for Addu City Meedhoo constituency, Rozaina Adam, who contested for Feydhoo North constituency.

According to the MDP, 48 candidates have been confirmed without a primary, including some current MPs.

Parliamentary elections are scheduled for March 17, during the first week of Ramadan. Members will be elected to 93 constituencies in the upcoming parliamentary elections.