Four out of five CSC members to be dismissed

The Parliament committee on Independent Institutions have made the decision to dismiss the President, Vice President and two additional members of the Civil Service Commission (CSC).

During the committee's sitting held Monday, all cabinet ministers of the government were summoned to the sitting to determine if the CSC was providing sufficient support and cooperation to the ministries. While all ministers noted a delay in execution, they noted that the ministries were not receiving enough support from CSC.

Following the meeting, the committee agreed to dismiss President of CSC Ali Shameem, Vice President Shaheed Mohamed and members Zakariyya Mohamed and Ibrahim Shahiq.

While the parliament previously looked into issues involving CSC members Shaheed and Shahiq and sent the issue to the committee to perform procedure, both individuals were given the opportunity to respond to the allegations made against them. The meetings were closed to the media.

With the dismissal of four out of the five members of CSC, only member Fathmath Amira will remain on the commission.